

ADUs are allowed in MilwaukieTypes:DetachedInternal
Types:DetachedInternal
Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) Rules for Milwaukie, OR
Is your property eligible for an ADU?
# of Properties
7,544
Owner-occupied
72%
Zoning districts
17
Avg Home Value
$696,642
Median Lot Size
0.18 acres
Avg Income
$92,220
Residential Types:
7,544 housing units
Single Family
90%
2-3 Family
3%
Apts (4+ units)
3%
Other
4%
Zoning Districts:
7,863 parcels · 17 districts
R-MD
83%(6,555)
R-HD
8%(663)
DMU
2%(165)
MUTSA
1%(86)
Other
5%(394)
ADU Rules
What can you build in Milwaukie, OR?
Milwaukie, OR follows state and local rules for Accessory Dwelling Units. Here is a concise overview of the local rules.
Eligibility
- –Internal / Attached ADU: By Right
- –Detached ADU: By Right
Interior / Attached ADU Size Limits
- –Maximum of 800 sq ft for an attached/internal ADU, except no maximum when converting a basement of a primary dwelling that has existed on the site for at least 5 years.
Detached ADU Size Limits
- –Maximum detached ADU floor area of 800 sq ft
- –With a variance, maximum detached ADU floor area may increase by up to 25%
Max Units
- –Up to 2 ADUs per lot for a single detached dwelling; if two are provided, only one may be attached to or within the primary structure (the second must be detached). Two detached ADUs are allowed.
- –Duplex, triplex/quadplex, and multifamily: ADUs are not allowed (ADU approval requires the primary use to be a single detached dwelling).
Owner Occupancy
- –No owner-occupancy requirement
Parking
- –No minimum; no maximum for ADUs (Table 19.605.1). Off-street parking, if provided, must meet general residential standards in §19.607.1.
Rental Restrictions
- –Short-term rentals allowed with limits: owner/primary-operator must occupy either dwelling for at least 270 days/year; unhosted STRs limited to 95 days/year; no more than two rental parties at a time; only one STR may operate on a property in low-density zones. No additional long-term rental restrictions stated.
ADU State Law
What can you build in Oregon?
- –In urban growth areas, Oregon law requires cities and counties to allow at least one ADU on lots zoned for detached single-family homes.
- –Local jurisdictions cannot require owner occupancy for ADUs, but may regulate short-term or vacation rentals.
- –There are no statewide limits on ADU size, height, setbacks, lot size, or floor area ratio. Local zoning rules apply.
- –Parking requirements, if any, are set by the local jurisdiction, subject to state limitations.
- –Some cities may allow more than one ADU per lot, depending on local code.
- –Oregon law does not require counties to allow ADUs in rural residential zones. Whether an ADU is allowed depends on county zoning.
- –ADUs in rural residential areas cannot be used for short-term or vacation rentals.
- –Additional requirements may apply related to wildfire risk, water supply, septic capacity, and fire access.
- –Counties may impose additional restrictions beyond state law or choose not to allow ADUs at all.
- –If a county allows ADUs, state law imposes strict limits, including a minimum 2-acre lot size, a maximum ADU size of 900 sq ft, a location within 100 ft of the primary dwelling, and a limit of one ADU per parcel.
What's allowed on your lot?
These are the municipality-wide rules. What's allowed on a specific property also depends on state laws, setbacks, floor area ratio, lot coverage, environmental constraints, topography, and other property-specific factors. Search your address on FutureLot to see what's allowed on your property.
Check my propertyHow can we help you?
Get matched with trusted local builders
Understand what's allowed on your property
Learn the key rules and size limits for ADUs
Is your property eligible for an ADU?
ADU rules in other Oregon municipalities
Rules change at the town line. Check the municipality your property is actually in.
Clackamas County